A Rock Hill woman was charged earlier this week with driving under the influence after her blood alcohol concentration registered a .31 on the breathalyzer test. She stated that it was her cheating husband that drove her to consume alcohol.  Police were called to a parking lot after reports of the woman sitting in her car with smoke pouring from the hood.

The woman claimed that her husband had been cheating on her, which she says was the cause of her intoxication.  Thereafter, the police attempted to administer a field sobriety test; however, the woman refused.  A breath-test was taken by the officers, and it allegedly read .31 on two occasions that evening.  The woman was charged with violation of an open container law, and driving under the influence.

In South Carolina, criminal charges related to driving under the influence greatly increase based on the level of alcohol intoxication.  When a person is charged with his/her first DUI conviction, there are various levels of punishment at play.  When the person has a BAC under .10 this equates to the following penalties:  six month license suspension, $400 fine, 48 hours – 30 days in jail, and 48 hours of public service employment.  However, when the BAC content is above a .16, the penalty increases. Such penalties include: a license suspension of six months, a $1000 fine, a minimum of 30 days in jail and up to as much as 90 days, and 30 days of public service employment.

Family problems are no excuse for one to get behind the wheel of a vehicle after consuming intoxicating libations.  Police officers are entrusted to keep intoxicated drivers from driving, and it is no concern to them what personal issues one is confronted with that put that person on the road.  What they are concerned about is one’s level of alcohol concentration.  This is why it is so important for you to stay off the road when you have been drinking.

Unfortunately, people who are arguing with family are more likely to drink, and those who drink are more likely to have decreased inhibitions.  With those decreased inhibitions comes more of a willingness to drive.  This combination leads to a greater potential for one to receive a charge of driving under the influence.  If you have been charged with a DUI, and the charges have been exacerbated by a higher BAC, call the law offices of Reeves, Aiken & Hightower, LLP for a consultation.  You can contact our Baxter Village office in Fort Mill, South Carolina at 803-548-4444, or toll-free at 877-374-5999.