The South Carolina Highway Patrol has reported that a 22-year-old woman, who was travelingother car crashed the wrong way on the westbound land of US 76 caused a collision with a 20-year-old male driver.  Both drivers were brought to the Medical Center in Florence, South Carolina. 

The woman is being charged with Felony DUI; however, she has not been booked yet due to the fact that she remains in the hospital.  She was found to be traveling under the influence, and will be charged with Felony DUI because she caused great bodily injury to the other driver. 

DUI fines and penalties in South Carolina vary with regard to whether the driver was a repeat offender; whether the person’s blood alcohol level is beyond a .16 or higher.  In South Carolina, by a person’s fourth DUI, they will likely lose their license.  However, South Carolina, as well as most other states is beginning to stiffen their DUI penalties.  Many drivers, who are repeat offenders, or who have been charged with an aggravating DUI charge are forced to put ignition interlock systems in their vehicles; and, this is at their own expense. 

Due to the often changing DUI laws in the state of South Carolina, it is very important for one who has been charged with a DUI to retain competent counsel.  At Reeves, Aiken & Hightower, LLP, we have a combined 75 years experience and can help to resolve your problem to the best of our abilities.  For a consultation, give us a call at toll-free 877-374-5999, and we will be happy to assist you.