In South Carolina, and pretty much every other state, the law requires that in order to get a driver’s license either for the first time, or renewed, then you must certify that they are also insured by an automobile liability policy.
You can do so by filling out Form 4477-NC or Form 447-CDL, depending on which type of license you are attempting to obtain. Please see the SCDOT website to download these forms.
However, if you, or no one in your household actually has a vehicle, you can check off the form accordingly; however you still must get liability insurance and declare that you certify yourself “personally” for automobile liability insurance. This would be used if you were driving for a company but did not own a vehicle of your own.
At any time, an owner may be required to provide proof that the vehicle that they are using is insured. Think about it. The very first time you register your vehicle in SC, or if you renew your registration, you must provide the name of your insurance company to the South Carolina DMV.
Then SCDMV will then verify that you actually do have coverage via internet sources. If they can not verify that you have insurance, than you may either have your license suspended, or not get one at all.
The second time you may have to prove this insurance is if you are stopped by an officer of the law. We have all heard cops ask for ” license and registration please,” upon getting pulled over. If you do not have your registration on you, you may be cited, fined, or even imprisoned.
If you are a new resident in SC, make sure to have your address and license changed with the appropriate authorities within 90 days of residency in the state.
If you are pulled over by an SC officer, and you do not have your registration card on you, then you have 30 days to provide proof of insurance to avoid any further suspension.
If you have had an incident with being pulled over, and received a hefty fine or citation for not having your driver’s license or proof of insurance on you, then contact the law offices of Reeves, Aiken, and Hightower, LLP toll-free at 877-374-5999 for more information on our rates.